top of page

RLAF Project: What's it all about?


This July 2017 will mark the 11th anniversary of the passing of my Father, Colonel Concy Phimphavong. He was the Wing Commander of the 3rd Tactical Fighter\Bomber Wing in Savannakhet, Laos, also known as L-39 to his CIA Counterparts. Not one day goes by that I don't miss the old "Bird."

My Father, Col Concy and my Mother, Lamngeune Phimphavong

He commanded there from 1971 until the Fall of Laos in 1975 to the Communist Forces which led me to my current life here in the United States. Even though I was born in Savannakhet (L-39) in 1973, I do not recollect any thoughts of my prior homeland. My earliest remembrance would be at a playground in San Antonio, TX, I believe I was 3 years old or so at the time.

My family's struggle to come to the States was just like many other families. It's hard for most Americans to imagine the struggles of what it's like to lose the only home that you know. I only realized about it recently because my parents never really told me about the hardships that they had to encounter during their journey to bring my family, as well as others out of harm's way. Most people weren't as lucky as mine. For that I am very grateful. That is why I decided to launch the RLAFproject.org. It's a way for me to pay homage to, not only my father, but to all the men and women that sacrificed their lives fighting for the only home they knew.

As for me, I grew up in the US and assimilated in society but I will never forget my roots and where I came from. This site was created as a way to always remember the sacrifices that our parents and grandparents had fought so hard for. It's also a way to document and centralize the vast amount of information out on the web regarding the past into a centralized location so that we can pass on the knowledge, traditions and bouts of heroism of our elders for the next generations to come, in hopes that they will carry that torch to their children's children.

Kop Jai Lai

Pete Phimphavong


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page